It’s been wild and crazy around the farm these past few weeks. Babies are hitting the ground left and right, my front yard is pretty much one giant weed patch (including most of the garden…yikes!) and the tomatoes I started back in February look like they could walk out the door and plant themselves!

The most exciting thing though happened a couple of days ago when I noticed one of my goat kids had something wrong with her eye. Turns out her eyelids are too big and were rolling in toward her eyeballs! The lashes were scratching the insides of her eyes. Even weirder is the fact that when I called my friend Bridget for help, she told me she had the same problem last year and learned how to fix it. Apparently its called entropion. According to http://www.helium.com, “Entropion is a disorder of the eyelids which can be painful to goats. The eyelid or both eyelids are reversed (turned inward) causing the lashes to scrape the eye. Goats can either be born with entropion or it can be caused from an injury to the eye. Blepharitis is commonly associated with entropion and both of these disorders are frequently mistaken for pink eye.”  I wound up taking the doeling over to Bridget’s and she put 3 skin staples under each eye. I have a little punk rock baby now! We should be able to remove the staples in a few weeks. In the mean time we’re giving her prescription eye drops to speed up the healing process and help with the pain.I’m happy to report she’s doing great so far.

