I can remember a few early warning signs that my dreams of owning a small but lucrative goat dairy were a bit uninformed. There was the cheese making workshop I attended back before we bought our first two goats. The speaker, a dairy goat breeder, charged us an arm and a leg, served imported cheese for lunch and didn’t even let us taste the cheese we made or let us take any home. Weird I thought. But she turned out to be a total jerk (which is very unusual for “goat people”). So I chalked the whole experience up to her disdainful personality and went about the business of buying every available doeling (female goat baby) in Hickman County. Well, at least the two I could afford.

HEAVEN! I was instantly in LOVE with those little creatures. In just a few months, they’d be cranking out the milk. We’d be at all the farmers markets selling fresh eggs, gourmet cheeses and ice cold bottles of goat milk. With our restaurant experience and sheer enthusiasm, the possibilities were limitless! Or so I thought.

Little did I know the reason the unpleasant goat breeder didn’t offer samples of the cheese made at her workshop was because it is illegal to sell or even give away fresh raw milk cheeses in TN.  Little did I know just about EVERYTHING concerning the retail of locally produced, homemade food could land an innocent farmer such as my future self in a stinking heap of you-know-what. I’m glad I didn’t know this bit of information because were it not for my blissful ignorance, I may have missed out on a most important and extraordinary adventure.

