So the chickens led to the goats and to the garden and to more chickens and more goats and rabbits. But first there was the day my socks and panties went missing. There I was at the laundry mat on Moreland Ave., just back from the apartment where I had run to hang up my favorite bra, staring at an extra-large-front-loading dryer which 10 minutes before held every last pair of my socks and panties. EVERY pair…The dryer was completely empty.  As I stood peering into the shiny gray cylinder where my bikini briefs used to be and believing they would somehow reappear any minute, I had an epiphany. It was as if a thick fog in my mind which had hung on for longer than I could remember simply lifted and I knew in an instant what must be done. MOVE! I needed to move.  My health, happiness and possibly my future existence depended on it. It was Her, The Outlaw Goddess, my guardian angel reaching out to me, shaking my shoulders saying, “Wake up girl, you’re late! You don’t want to miss this. And besides, I’m counting on you.”

