So is it wrong that I don’t really know what’s going on with the oil spill or any other world news for that matter? I mean at this point I get my news from facebook for heaven’s sake. Thankfully I have a diverse group of friends so at least I’m getting lots of points of view right? But my old friend Guilt here, seems to think I should be following along a bit more carefully. And perhaps I should but would knowing and worrying benefit the situation? I’m thinking not. Besides it’s not that I don’t care. It’s quite the opposite really. It’s that I care so much it hurts and I’d rather not put myself through the agony. The thing is I have grown to LOATHE the television and let’s face it, that’s where the news is. Oh sure I could subscribe to a newspaper of some sort or go online…but I guess I’m not that devoted to pain and agony.

The big story for me, the news of the freekin’ century, is there are just too many people and the inevitable consequence is we are destroying other species and depleting our natural resources. This is huge. I mean what other news is there? Oh yeah, that our economy is a sham, based on nothing, propped up by personal debt and the spending of fictitious money? That’s yesterday’s news. If you haven’t gotten a plan for it yet, you might want to start stashing a few garden seeds and brush up on your survival skills. Just sayin’. My strategy is to make changes on a personal level, pray (which I keep forgetting to do), and reach out to other people who are trying to make a difference.

So do I have to…should I be tuning in? Is there anything I can do as an individual to change what’s going on out there just by knowing about it? Of course. The answer is yes. I should be way more informed. But then I have to ask, who can I trust to give me the real deal? For now it will remain my good buddies on facebook. Cop-out or not that’s how I roll.

