The dog days of summer are upon us which means you’ll find me keeping busy with indoor projects until the heat wave is over. One of my favorite chill-out pastimes is making laundry powder. There are many reasons why making laundry soap is so fun.  It’s cheap, simple and practical, three of my favorite things. It is an all natural, simply packaged alternative to brand-named detergents and the Outlaw Goddess seems to have a thing for laundry.

Here’s the recipe:

2 cups of grated all natural soap

1 cup borax

1 cup washing soda

A few drops of your favorite essential oil (optional)

You just mix everything in a bowl and pour into a storage container. 1 tablespoon does an entire load!

What I do:

I make goats milk soap with milk from my own goats. I sell my soap at a local market. The soaps that don’t sell after so long wind up grated in the food processor and turned into laundry powder. Borax and washing soda can be hard to find so I order those ingredients online from Ace Hardware. They ship everything to my local store and I pick it all up there.

Hope y’all give this a try and let me know how it turns out.

This post is part of the Thrifty Thursday blog hop on Saved by Love Creations

