Am I less of a woman because I don’t wear make up? I seriously ask myself this question from time to time especially when I’m feeling insecure or nervous about who I might run into or have to interact with for one reason or another. I quit wearing heels years ago and you will almost never find me in a skirt. Heels are just plain terrible and I really don’t care to shave all that often, thus I avoid skirts, although I haven’t given up shaving completely and likely never will.

To make matters worse, the best thrift shop ever is right on our town square. It’s run by the local women’s shelter. I get all my clothes from there. Now not only am I going all natural, I’m also going around wearing outfits from 1998. Do I need help here? Because I’m at the point that I really don’t care what I wear as long as it’s comfy and cheap and comes from my favorite thrift store.

On the one hand this low maintenance lifestyle is liberating. I’m comfortable. I can get ready for the day in a matter of minutes. The countertop in my bathroom is clutter free. I spend less money and use less plastic. You know stuff like that. But on the other hand, I can’t help feeling a bit remiss in my duties as a woman to be appealing at all times, to go to great lengths to look unnaturally beautiful and to give a s**t about what the rest of the world thinks of my choices.

