Here’s an article I ran across yesterday in the Buffalo River Review while mulching my garden with newspaper (and getting a sunburn). Another perk of using newspaper mulch is you get to catch up on all the local happenings. This piece made me smile. Maybe I’m not such an outlaw farmer after all.

There was the coolest picture in the printed article and when I am able to find it again I will upload it here. It is of the jail’s scarecrow.

Vegetable Garden At The County Jail

Sheriff Tommy Hickerson and Chief Deputy Nick Weems want the community know that a vegetable garden has been started at the Perry County Jail. The garden will be maintained by both male and female prisoners who will be growing vegetables that will be eaten as part of the jailhouse meals, including cabbage, okra, corn, tomatoes, green beans, and squash. The benefits of the garden are that it will keep the prisoners active, they will produce fresh vegetables for their own meals, and it will result in cost savings for the county. See More…

